Thursday, February 5th, 2004: Lee's Palace

A review of this show, The Daybreak's EP "Everything In-Between", and an interview with the band is available from Scene and Heard, a great online music magazine. Visit their site and go to "Morgue" read more.

After spending most of January in the studio, The Daybreak happily took to the very high stage of Lee's Palace last Thursday night. The evening's show allowed the band to play alongside two good friends in Sian Evans and Wannamaker.

The band opened the set with "Miss California" and segued into "Twice As High As The Sun". This was followed by "Staircase" and the debut of the as-yet untitled new song. Full of traditional rock swagger, big guitars, big drums and big bass the song thrilled the house. "The Egg" was next, returning happily to the set for the first time since October. The band closed out with "Shuffle" (arguably the best version of the song yet), "Hindsight" and a nine-minute version of the crowd pleasing "Don't Be Long" - the intensity and emotion of this last song causing the ambitous gentleman who (God bless him) danced along to the entire set to collapse just prior to the tune's conclusion. Predominantly on display tonight was the unique sound of the band - seemingly more focused and distinct with each performance - as well as the groups impressive diversity.

Following the set, the band took in the performance of Wannamaker. The infectious groove of "European Dance Song" was, well, too infectious to resist, and it found all four members at the front of the stage cheering on their friends. Indeed, Shoe even joined Wannamaker onstage for this finale.

Thanks for the show go out to Amy and the staff at Lee's, to Eric for the great sound (it was damn loud) and the great recordings, to Andrew from Scene and Heard for taking the time to come out, to Sian Evans and Wannamaker for great sets and to Trevor, the dancing machine - THAT was fun to watch.

Keep checking for new songs. The Daybreak are currently in the studio recording some of their best and most popular material and everything will be available on the site for you to download and enjoy. The first 3 songs should be up by the end of February/early March.

Set List:
1. Miss California
2. Twice as High as The Sun
3. Staircase
4. Untitled (eventually named "Lies About Your Life")
5. Promises Disappear (Let Me Say I'm Sorry) a.k.a. "The Egg"
6. Shuffle
7. Hindsight
8. Don't Be Long

Support: Sian Evans, Wannamaker

All information contained within this site is property and copyright of The Daybreak and may not be copied or reproduced without permission. All rights reserved. 2002-2005.